top of page


Illinois residents are required to have a Firearm Owner's Identification (FOID) card to purchase or possess a firearm or ammunition. The cards are issued by the Illinois State Police after they have completed a Federal NICS background check on the applicant.

The Illinois Department of Human Services database is also checked by the police to confirm the applicant has not been in a mental institution within the prior five years.

The applicant must be at least 18 years old and pass all the listed requirements to qualify for a FOID card. For persons under the age of 21, there are a few additional requirements.


Residents of Illinois can apply for a FOID card via an online application or by mail. The online application is probably the easiest. Before beginning the application process you should check the requirements listed below to make sure you meet the qualifying conditions for a FOID card.

Applicants under the age of 21 will need a parent or legal guardian written permission to obtain a FOID card, the applicant must be at least 18 years old.

To qualify for a FOID card the applicant must meet the following requirements;

  • Minimum age 18 with parents consent, with no consent the minimum age is 21.

  • No felony convictions in Illinois or other states

  • No domestic violence convictions

  • Not subject of protection order

  • No convictions for assault or battery

  • Have not been a patient at a mental hospital

  • Is not an illegal immigrant

  • Not a fugitive from justice

  • Never renounced US citizenship

  • Have not failed a drug test within the prior year

  • Has not within the prior year used or been addicted to a controlled substance

  • Is not intellectually disabled

  • Has not been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces


  1. Visit the Illinois State Police website CLICK HERE

  2. Click the ENTER button under FOID card

  3. Enter your User ID, Password, Last name, and Date of birth

  4. If you don't have a user name or password, click the Register Now link

  5. You will need an Illinois state ID card or driver's license

  6. Follow the directions

Illinois State Police How to apply VIDEO

bottom of page